August 17, 2012

Scheer elected chairman of Nebraska Corn Board

At its meeting earlier this week, members of the Nebraska Corn Board elected leadership for 2012-13.

Alan Tiemann (right) passes the gavel to new
Nebraska Corn Board chairman Tim Scheer.

Elected chairman was Tim Scheer, a farmer from St. Paul. Scheer represents District 5 for the Board and has been serving as a director since 2007. He previously served as vice chairman. Along with a farrow to finish hog operation, Scheer farms 800 acres, growing row crops and alfalfa, as well as a cow-calf and back grounding enterprise. He is a graduate of the Nebraska LEAD XXIV program.

Scheer takes over the chairmanship from Alan Tiemann, a farmer from Seward who had been chairman for three years. Tiemann has been serving as the at-large director for the Nebraska Corn Board since 2005.

The Board's vice chair is Curt Friesen, a farmer from Henderson. He represents District 3 for the Board and has been a director on the board since 2008. He previously served as secretary-treasurer.

The final officer elected was Dave Merrell, a farmer from St. Edward, as secretary/treasurer. Merrell represents District 7 and has been on the Board since 2006.

No comments:

Post a Comment