August 4, 2010

Grant County is Nebraska’s 14th Livestock Friendly County

Grant County became Nebraska’s 14th Livestock Friendly County when Gov. Dave Heineman announced the official designation earlier this week.

Other certified Livestock Friendly counties in the state include: Adams, Box Butte, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Hitchcock, Jefferson, Keith, Lincoln, Morrill, Sheridan, Wayne and Webster Counties.

Click here for information from the Nebraska Department of Agriculture on the program.

“In receiving this designation, Grant County has made a strong commitment to supporting rural economic development,” Heineman said. “Being part of the Livestock Friendly program is a way to recognize the tremendous impact the livestock industry has on Main Street and the local economy. It provides jobs for those working with animals and provides a marketplace for grain and hay producers while also adding value to those products."

He noted that the livestock sector is responsible for half of Nebraska's total agricultural receipts and that with the designation, Grant County demonstrated that it is open to agribusiness and the benefits that come from responsible livestock production.

Gov. Heineman presented the Livestock Friendly designations to Grant County Commissioners Frances Davis, Brian Brennemann and Dan Vinton. The county will also receive road signs bearing the program logo to display along highways.

No comments:

Post a Comment