July 15, 2010

Holzfaster elected to National Corn Board

Paxton, Nebraska, farmer Jon Holzfaster was elected to the National Corn Board yesterday during Corn Congress in Washington, D.C. Holzfaster, a member of the Nebraska Corn Board, was one of four new members elected to the board, which oversees the National Corn Growers Association.

Holzfaster grows corn, popcorn, soybeans, dry edible beans, wheat and alfalfa. He also operates a 1,000-head non-commercial feed yard. He is the third generation to own and operate the family farm and is fortunate enough to work alongside his dad and brother. He also currently serves as chairman of NCGA’s Ethanol Committee and is involved in other NCGA activities.

At the same time Holzfaster was elected, it meant new officers were confirmed for NCGA – with Garry Niemeyer of Illinois being confirmed as NCGA's new first vice president.

That means when NCGA's new fiscal year begins, current chairman Bob Dickey from Laural, Nebraska, will step down as current president Darrin Ihnen of Hurley, S.D., moves into that role.

Dickey, a member of the Nebraska Corn Board, served as president of NCGA last year and as chairman this year. He has served for many years on the NCGA Corn Board, and will continues to serve on the Nebraska Corn Board.

1 comment: