December 21, 2010

Nebraska Corn Growers hand out awards, elect officers

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association (NeCGA) presented Randy Klein of the Renewable Fuels Association and former staff member of the Nebraska Corn Board, with its 2010 Golden Ear Award.

The Golden Ear Award is presented annually by NeCGA to recognize and appreciate an individual’s contribution to agriculture. Klein was presented the award at the Nebraska Ag Classic December 15 in Kearney.

Klein grew on a farm in Hamilton and Clay counties and received a degree in Agriculture Economics from the University of Nebraska in Lincoln. He worked as a research analyst for the Nebraska Department of Agriculture before accepting a joint position as executive director of NeCGA and field services director for the Nebraska Corn Board. He then went on to work for the Nebraska Corn Board full time for 14 years, focusing on the ethanol industry and marketing corn and corn co-products in California. He recently began a new position with the Renewable Fuels Association.

“Randy Klein had a very positive impact on corn growers and ethanol production during his years with the Nebraska Corn Board. We are excited to see him continue those efforts with the Renewable Fuels Association and are proud to honor him with the 2010 Golden Ear Award,” NeCGA president Brandon Hunnicutt of Giltner said in a news release.

In addition to honoring Klein, NeCGA presented a special recognition award to Lynn Chrisp, a farmer from Kenesaw and member of NeCGA’s board of directors. The award – a United States flag flown over the U.S. Capitol – was for Chrisp’s dedication in developing new leaders for Nebraska’s corn industry by coordinating and assisting in multiple leadership programs in Washington, D.C.

NeCGA Officers
From left to right Brandon Hunnicutt, Chairman;
Carl Sousek, President; Elgin Bergt, Treasurer,
Joel Grams, Vice President; Rick Gruber, Secretary
The NeCGA board of directors also elected new officers for 2011 following the organization’s annual meeting on December 15. NeCGA’s officers include:
  • Carl Sousek of Prague was elected president of the organization. He is a member of the Saunders County Corn Growers Association. He replaces Brandon Hunnicutt, who will move into the chairman position and is a member of the Hamilton County Corn Growers Association.
  • Joel Grams of Minden was elected vice-president. He is a member of the Kearney-Franklin Corn Growers Association.
  • Elgin Bergt of Schuyler was elected treasurer. He will oversee all finances of the association and is a member of the Colfax-Dodge Corn Growers Association.
  • Rick Gruber of Benedict was elected secretary. He will oversee the association’s records and is a member of the York County Corn Growers Association.
Two at-large directors were also elected at the meeting. They include Steve Ebke of Daykin, who is a member of the Southeast Corn Growers Association, and Dan Wesley of Morse Bluff, who is a member of the Saunders County Corn Growers Association.

Recruiters recognized
Also during the annual meeting, top membership recruiters were recognized for their efforts with “Top Recruiter Jackets.”

Randy Uhrmacher, chairman of the Field Services Committee, was excited to report a state wide membership increase of 117 members since last year’s meeting. Randy noted that it was thanks to the efforts of the top recruiters, and many other NeCGA members, that the membership increase was realized.

Receiving the jackets (and pictured left to right) are:
Todd Kral – Adams Webster Corn Growers
Chuck Emanuel – Colfax Dodge Corn Growers
Dan Kellner – Saunders County Corn Growers
Bob Bartek – Saunders County Corn Growers

Not pictured is Bruce Wiles of Cass Nemaha Otoe Corn Growers who was unable to attend.

Recruiter points were assigned using National Corn Growers Association recruiter points system.

No comments:

Post a Comment