September 9, 2010

Award recognizes Nebraska Corn Board, others for support of ethanol program

The Nebraska Corn Board said today that it was among the organizations honored with the Paul Dana Marketing Vision Award for its support of the national Blend Your Own Ethanol (BYOethanol) campaign.

The award was presented by the American Coalition for Ethanol (ACE) at the organization’s recent conference.

The BYOethanol campaign launched a year ago when ACE and the Renewable Fuels Association partnered to create a first-ever single source of ethanol information and technical expertise for petroleum marketers looking to upgrade their equipment and offer more ethanol choices to customers. By serving as a central clearinghouse for renewable fuels information and infrastructure incentives, BYOethanol brings e85 and other flex-fuel blends like E20 and E30 to key areas of the country.

The Nebraska Corn Board supports the campaign financially and by working to provide fuel marketers in Nebraska with information on higher ethanol blends and the benefits of ethanol blender pumps.

The Nebraska Corn Board also offers $5,000 grants to gas stations that install blender pumps – grant money is still available (click here for details). The grants are in addition to federal tax incentives.

“We’re honored to be recognized by ACE for our support of BYOethanol and for our efforts to expand fuel choice for Nebraska motorists,” Curt Friesen, a farmer from Henderson and member of the Nebraska Corn Board said in a news release. “At the same time, we want to let Nebraska station owners know that grant money is still available should they be considering installing a blender pump.”

The Paul Dana Marketing Vision Award was established in honor of the late Indy Racing League driver Paul Dana who understood the importance of developing markets for ethanol and worked tirelessly to make his vision of fueling the IRL with ethanol a reality. In addition to the corn organizations in Nebraska, the National Corn Growers Association and 10 other state corn organizations were honored with the award.

No comments:

Post a Comment