December 17, 2009

NeCGA honors Johanns, elects officers

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association (NeCGA) awarded Senator Mike Johanns the 2009 Golden Ear Award during the Nebraska Ag Classic. The Golden Ear Award is presented annually to recognize and thank individuals for their contribution to agriculture, the corn industry and the NeCGA.

Senator Johanns, who grew up on a farm, has been involved in public service for 25 years, beginning at the local level and rising to mayor, governor, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture and now representing Nebraskans in the U.S. Senate.

The NeCGA board of directors also re-elected its officers for 2010 during its annual meeting held ahead of the conference:
  • Brandon Hunnicutt of Giltner was re-elected president. He represents the Hamilton County Corn Growers Association.
  • Carl Sousek of Prague was re-elected vice president. He represents the Saunders County Corn Growers Association.
  • Joel Grams of Minden was re-elected secretary. He represents the Kearney-Franklin Corn Growers Association.
  • Elgin Bergt of Schuyler was re-elected treasurer. He represents the Colfax-Dodge Corn Growers Association.
Curtis Rohrich of Wood River and Dennis Scamehorn of York were also elected at-large directors at the meeting.

No comments:

Post a Comment