August 14, 2008

Number of Livestock Friendly Counties expands

Lincoln, Sheridan and Box Butte counties in Nebraska have been named the latest Livestock Friendly Counties in the state. Gov. Dave Heineman announced the official designation this week.

There are now 11 counties certified as Livestock Friendly in the state, with Sheridan, Box Butte and Lincoln counties joining Adams, Dawes, Garden, Hitchcock, Keith, Morrill, Wayne and Webster counties.

"In seeking this designation, these counties officials have demonstrated their commitment to rural economic development and agriculture," Heineman said. "The Livestock Friendly program recognizes the positive economic impact the livestock industry has on communities across our state. ... [and] is a sign that counties are ready to pursue new opportunities in agribusiness."

He noted that the state's livestock producers represent approximately 65 percent of agricultural receipts in Nebraska.

The Livestock Friendly program is coordinated by the Nebraska Department of Agriculture.

No comments:

Post a Comment